Share your photography tips here!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Share your photography tips here!

I'm not a professional photographer; it's just one of my hobbies. Nonetheless, knowing a bit of the basics, I thought that we could all share photography tips in this thread, so please post your photos and explain your photography thought process behind them and what you wanted to illustrate, and any photography tips you used to take those great shots.

Before I ordered my C8 after the reveal, I scoured the internet for photos to get a good idea of how the C8 actually looked, but it was harder than I thought. Many of the photos or videos taken were with cell phones, with the people taking them standing close to the car. The result of that was a distortion of the C8's proportions, which made it hard to get a handle on.

Focal length/Lens distortion

We've all heard many people say 'The C8 doesn't photograph well' or 'You really have to see it in person - it's totally different than in photos'. The main thing that determines whether a photo matches what we see with our naked eye is the amount of distortion from the camera lens. The closer you are to the car and the shorter the focal length (wide angle), the more distorted the proportions will be. I thought that this would be a good tip to start with - do yourself a favor when snapping that photo and take a few steps back, then zoom in a bit with your phone. You'll get a much better proportioned photo. Same thing with a camera.

I took a series of photos below to illustrate what focal length does to the photo. I tried to keep the car the same size in the frame and I walked further away from the car for each photo and zoomed in. You can see how the angle of view changes from wide at a short focal length to narrower at the longer focal lengths.

I think that a focal length of 35mm - 70mm will get the most natural proportions for car photos.