Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paint Correction/Protection

Paint Preparation/Correction/Protection: Even A Brand New Car

These are the steps and products I use on a new car. There are tons of other high-quality alternative methods and products. It takes me about two days to do it the way I am describing. Others can sure do it quicker. So, FWIW, here is a start for consideration.

The astute reader will note some inconsistency at to which nano ceramic was used. On my Corvette, exclusively CQuartz Finest by a professional installer; on my daily drivers, I was self taught, and successfully used Wolfgang Uber Ceramic (amateur application approved).

The overall steps are identical for either application, and for brand new cars and ones you have owned for a while. I do the complete process even on my daily drivers once every two years.

1) Wash with Dawn Ultra, using new microfiber wash mitt, foam gun for extra paint protection, and the two-bucket wash method (each bucket with grit guard); YouTube videos avail on two-bucket washing.

2) Apply bug and tar removal (IF needed), let soak for several minutes; hose off; dry to 90% with high pressure air hose;

3) Apply Iron X (to remove imbedded iron particles in paint); hose off; dry with air pressure hose to 90%, then only need a few microfibers to gently finish the drying.

For those who doubt that iron particles become imbedded in brand new car’s paint, with many new car's arriving that way — especially those vehicles which have gone a a train trip to get to your dealership, below is a video. Every iron particle will turn purple, and my brand new Corvette, after coming across country on the train, looked like it had measles as I did this step.

4) Remove “surface bonded contaminants” with Nanoskin Autoscrub Fine mitt, applied with AutoGlide or high quality detailer. Process is very similar to a clay bar but quicker;

5) Wash again (as per # 1 above);